Energy Efficiency Award

For many years, Nor-Shipping has served as a strong platform for the promotion of environmentally responsible performance within the industry. Honoring this tradition in 2015 is the Energy Efficiency Award, which pays tribute to the ship that has contributed most towards energy efficiency in relation to its function and operation.

The award addresses more than emissions, focusing on the root of the problem rather than its consequence. In 2013 the Energy Efficiency Award went to Fjord Lines’ Stavangerfjord, one the first international service passenger ferries to run on pure LNG engines.

At the Nor-Shipping Opening Conference on June 2, four nominees were publicly honored for their commitment to reducing shipping's environmental impact with a focus on practical solutions and performance.

Only ships delivered after the previous Nor-Shipping in June 2013 were eligible. The jury included in its consideration:

  • Energy Efficiency Design Index (EEDI) figure (where available).
  • Innovative features in areas that contribute to improving energy efficiency (e.g. hull, resistance, machinery, propulsion, etc.) Note that the jury may request supporting materials to verify performance.
  • Cost-effectiveness / life-cycle cost perspective of new and innovative features.
  • Feasibility of realizing energy efficiency saving.

The award was presented to the shipowner in recognition of his or her commitment to the environment. 


An independent jury selected the award’s four official nominees, including the winner who was recognized at the Nor-Shipping Opening Conference on June 2. The 2015 jury included representatives from:

  • International Maritime Organisation (IMO) – IMO – Dr. Edmund Hughes, Senior Technical Officer
  • Riviera Maritime Media – Steve Matthews, Editorial Director
  • DNV GL – Jan Kvålsvold, Director for Market & Business Development and Ketil Aamnes, Phd, Vice President and Regional Manager - Maritime Advisory
  • Norwegian Shipowners’ Associaton – Erik Gierscky, Head of Communication
  • The Norwegian Marine Technology Research Institute (MARINTEK) – Per Magne Einang, Research Director
  • Nor-Shipping – Vidar Pederstad, Director
  • Chairman, Malcolm Latarche, maritime journalist

Other Awards