Young Entrepreneur Award 2013

New for 2013, the Young Entrepreneur Award is part of efforts to further develop Nor-Shipping as an arena for the next generation.

The award honors an entrepreneur under the age of 40 who has come up with new concepts and solutions, innovative technical or commercial solutions, or new logistical solutions – or who has taken on the industry or the environmental challenges it faces in a new way.

Tor M. Østervold of ECOsubsea was the first winner of the newly established award. Based on his experience working on board a commercial vessel and completing his master’s in international shipping in Plymouth, Østervold came up with an innovative idea: cleaning the hull without damaging paint and at the same time collecting debris, thus sparing the environment damage. Born into a family of fishermen, he is CEO of ECOsubsea, a company he founded in 2008 and whose partners include Wilh. Wilhelmsen ASA and Innovation Norway. Their technology, approved for use in five ports, increases ship energy efficiency and reduces operational costs, invasive species and emissions.

YoungShip, the fast-growing international organization for young maritime professionals, is Nor-Shipping’s partner and the administrator of this award. The other nominees were Rainer Sternfeld of Marinexplore, Styrk Bekkenes of Noreq AS and Christoffer Thorsheim of WTL Logistics.

In addition to the public recognition, the award prize included counseling by BW Ventures, and a free display area in the Nor-Shipping exhibition.

For 2013, the jury consisted of:

  • Elisabeth Grieg, CEO, Grieg Star Shipping
  • Andreas Sohmen-Pao, CEO of BW Group
  • Peter Hinchliffe, Secretary-General of International Chamber of Shipping
  • Roberto Giorgi, President of V-Ships
  • Michael Powell, Global Head of Operations, Maersk Tankers
  • Andreas Chrysostomou, Chairman of MEPC (IMO´s environmental protection group)
  • Manuel Garcia Pimentel Caraza, President of the Legal committee of Swiss-Re
  • Chris Hayman, Chairman of SeaTrade (the award media partner)
  • Vidar Pederstad, Nor-Shipping Director
  • Torkel Ugland, Chair of YoungShip Oslo
  • Birgit M. Liodden, Secretary General of YoungShip Int.